Fidiot Drivers

Posted: January 26, 2011 in fidiots
Tags: , ,

On the way to work this morning, I saw an ambulance, lights flashing headed the other direction (on a divided highway).  For some reason, I had a feeling it was going to be turning around so I was kind of keeping an eye out for it and, sure enough, a couple minutes later I saw it in my rear view mirror coming up.  As it approached, I noticed that none of the cars behind me were doing anything to move over to the sides of the road, but as it continued to gain ground, I pulled over, using my blinker, two lanes and slowed to a stop.  I was passed by easily upwards of five vehicles, maybe as many as ten and the idiot behind me looked exasperated with my stopping.  HELLO!!!  It’s a Law in Virginia and Maryland, for sure, and most/all others I’d guess, as well as most other countries around the world.  You are required to pull to the side and stop until the emergency vehicle has passed.

I’m not sure which scenario of these two is better:  the other drivers were soooo clueless that they didn’t know an ambulance with flashing lights and siren was coming up from behind or that they could see that it was in a lane that wasn’t blocked so they didn’t need to move to let it by.  Either is bad.  It means stupid, clueless people are on the roads –not shocking, or new, or it means people don’t find it important to make way properly for emergency vehicles.

Either way, maybe next time it’ll be one of their friends or loved ones held up by stupid, clueless drivers and (almost) not make it to the hospital in time.

Leave a comment